Theater Series

Since our establishment as an independent entity in 1973, McCarter’s renown as a preeminent regional theater has grown. For 30 years, Emily Mann's role as Artistic Director and Resident Playwright brought McCarter consistent recognition including the Tony Award for Outstanding Regional Theatre. In August of 2020, Sarah Rasmussen was appointed as McCarter's next Artistic Director, ushering in a new era and leading the company in creative vision.

Noteworthy productions include the premieres of new plays by Edward Albee, Nilo Cruz, Christopher Durang, Athol Fugard, Danai Gurira, Beth Henley, Ken Ludwig, Tarell Alvin McCraney, Dael Orlandersmith, Regina Taylor, and Sarah Treem. Many McCarter premieres including Having Our Say; Anna in the Tropics; Crowns; The How and the Why; The Brothers Size; Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike; and Ken Ludwig’s Baskerville: A Sherlock Holmes Mystery, have gone on to Broadway and to become some of the most frequently produced plays in the American theater. Our design teams regularly include Tony Award-winning artists such as Eugene Lee, Linda Cho, William Ivey Long, Darron L West, Susan Hilferty, and Beowulf Borrit.